Is black mold dangerous?

Very dangerous. If you're exposed for long enough, black mold spores can shut down your organs, incapacitate your immune system, and damage your brain—resulting in death.

---

It can be especially for people with respiratory issues. Exposure symptoms include coughing, wheezing, nasal congestion, red eyes, nosebleeds, itchy skin or eyes, and a sore or itchy throat. In otherwise healthy people, short-term exposure to toxins from black mold are unlikely to cause harm.