What's the largest bird in south america?

The largest bird in South America is the Greater Rhea. Found in the lowland savannas of central South America, the Greater Rhea is one of the largest birds on the planet. Per Wikipedia. Also, the answer to crossword clue "Largest South American bird" is RHEA, according to CrosswordEg.com.