What's an e. f. tornado?

The Enhanced Fujita Scale or EF Scale, which became operational on February 1 2007, is used to assign a tornado a 'rating' based on estimated wind speeds and related damage. Tornados are assigned a rating from EF0 to EF5 based upon the damage that is done.