What type of pepper is a pepperoncini?

Known as golden Greek peppers, Tuscan peppers or sweet Italian peppers, pepperoncini (also “peperoncini”) is a variety of chili pepper, scientifically known as capsicum annuum, spicy subset of the pepper family. They have thin skin that is yellow to light green in color and are only 2-3 inches long.