Why is it called rochambeau?

The earliest known use of "roshambo" as a synonym for the game of Rock, Paper, Scissors, is found in a 1936 book published in Oakland, California. East Asians in this area familiar with the Japanese game Jon Ken Pon, Americanized the name into a word with a similar cadence: “ro sham bo.”