When did the u. s. leave the vietnam war?

March 29, 1973 March 29, 1973 - The last remaining Americantroops withdraw from Vietnam as President Nixon declares "the day we have all worked and prayed for has finally come." America's longest war, and its first defeat, thus concludes.