Why do they call a hat trick?

A "hat-trick," is a term used to indicate three individual achievements in a given game. The term first appeared in 1858 in cricket, to describe H. H. Stephenson's taking three wickets with three consecutive deliveries. It has extended to scoring 3 times in a game in many other sports.