What is a noble phantasm?

Noble Phantasms are elements in the visual novel, Tsukihime, from Japanese game company Type Moon. They are referred to as "crystallized mysteries", powerful armaments, made using human imagination as their core, and are the weapons and abilities owned by Heroic Spirits.