Why is the pineapple called a pineapple?

From wictinary.org: From Middle English pinappel (“pinecone”, literally “pine-apple/pine-fruit”), equivalent to pine +‎ apple. Later applied to the fruit of the pineapple plant due to its resemblance to a pinecone.