What did lewis and clark explore?

Lewis and Clark were commissioned to explore west of the Great Divide to the Pacific Ocean. They reached the Pacific, mapped their route, and prepared efforts to make legal claim to the lands they explored for the United States.

---

the Louisiana Purchase and the Pacific Northwest. The expedition was a major chapter in the history of American exploration.