Who used to own the bahama islands?

The Bahama Islands were first claimed as a Spanish possession for 300 years (although believed discovered by Columbus.) In the 1700's they were ceded to England in the Treaty of Paris. They remained a British Crown Colony until 1973, when they achieved independence.