Why is deadpool called deadpool?

In the Deadpool and Death Annual 1999 we learned the origin of Deadpool's name; when he was being experimented on (as part of the program which ultimately led to his powers) the guards and inmates had a dead pool where they would gamble on which subject would die next. He took his name from this.