Was andrew jackson from the south?

Andrew Jackson was born on March 15, 1767, in the Waxhaws region of the Carolinas. ... Most likely they traveled overland through the Appalachian Mountains to the Scots-Irish community in the Waxhaws, straddling the border between North and South Carolina.