What does scotch taste like?

All scotches contain a malty flavor since malted barley is the primary component. Kilning with peat gives scotch a distinct smokey flavor. The amount of peat used determines how much smoke is produced. As the whiskey ages in a cask, it may develop fruity and vanilla notes.