What is glycerine used for in cooking?

Glycerin in cooking is a clear, syrupy liquid used mostly in sweets to retain moisture and enhance sweetness. When heating sugar and water at high temperatures it keeps the sugar from crystallizing. It also works as a softening agent in making fudge, truffles and caramels.