How fast does a space rocket go?

If you just want to get into orbit around the Earth, you need to reach speeds of at least 17,600 miles per hour. If you want to completely escape Earth's gravity and travel to another moon or planet, though, you need to be going even faster - at a speed of at least 25,000 miles per hour.