Do babies need a passport?

Yes. Every U.S. citizen — including infants — needs a valid passport to enter and leave most foreign countries. The U.S. Department of State issues passports. ... As a parent or legal guardian, you must apply in person on your baby's behalf and you must bring your child with you when you apply.