What is the purpose of snot?

Snot, or nasal mucus, is a helpful bodily product. The color of your snot can even be useful for diagnosing certain illnesses. The main job of nasal mucus is, to keep the linings of your nose and sinuses moist, trap dust and other particles you inhale.