Who is the first casualty of the civil war?

It was an accident! At the surrender ceremony of Ft. Sumter, an accidental discharge from one of the fort’s cannons caused an explosion that killed Pvt. Daniel Hough of the 1st U.S. Artillery, the first death of hundreds of thousands to come