When did green day become popular?

In February 1994 their album, Dookie, was released and sold over 10 million copies in the U.S. and with their appearance at Woodstock 1994 this combination sky rocketed them into popularity gaining them recognition in 1995 winning a Grammy Award and nominations for nine MTV Video Music Awards.