Do people eat hippopotamuses?

Hippos are still eaten in their native West Africa, even though poaching and war have decimated the population. ... But hippos can be as deadly dead as they are alive. In 2011, 500 people in Zambia were infected with anthrax after eating tainted hippo meat.