When was the measles vaccination invented?

The measles vaccine was discovered in 1963. In 1971, the measles vaccine was combined with vaccines for mumps and rubella (a.k.a. German measles) into a single vaccination. The combined vaccine is known as MMR, for measles, mumps and rubella.

---

John Enders and his team tested their measles vaccine on small groups of children from 1958 to 1960, before beginning trials on thousands of children in New York City and Nigeria. In 1961 it was hailed as 100% effective and the first measles vaccine was licensed for public use in 1963.