What does it mean to have tears of a clown?

"The Tears of a Clown" was a popular song by Smokey Robinson and the Miracles. The expression goes back several centuries and refers to a person who acts like they are happy, while inside they are sad. This usually refers to a person who's heart was broken by unrequited love.