Is the mandalorian before star wars?

It is the first live action series in the Star Wars franchise.Set five years after the events of Return of the Jedi and 25 years prior to the events of The Force Awakens, it follows the title character,a Mandalorian bounty hunter named Din Djarin,&his exploits beyond the reaches of the New Republic