What is the murder at straw guy ranch about?

The Straw Man and a Murder is a 2011 horror short story by Jeff Menapacein in which a ten-year-old boy finds solace from his abusive father in the cornfields where his 'friends' reside. Murder of a Straw Man, a 2018 Dancing Detective Mysteries book by Robyn Beecroft, about a murdered dancer.