What's the difference between a sofa and a couch?

While Overstock calls a sofa an upholstered bench with cushions, two arms, and ample space for people to sit, a couch typically has no arms and is smaller than a sofa. ... “'Couch' is the more casual term used for a comfort-driven piece, while 'sofa' is the more formal polished, design-driven piece.