Can i substitute baking powder for baking soda?

Baking powder has baking soda in it but also an acid, usually cream of tartar. Using baking powder instead of baking soda alters the recipe rise because there is less bicarbonate of soda. If you are substituting baking powder for baking soda use three times the amount the recipe requires