What's the probability of getting bitten by a shark?

A person's chance of getting attacked by a shark is 1 in 11.5 million, and a person's chance of getting killed by a shark is less than 1 in 264.1 million. You can reduce these odds too: stay close to shore, swim in groups, don't thrash around, avoid swimming at dawn or dusk or night or during rain.