What's the definition of recognizance?

According to Merriam-Webster's online dictionary, recognizance means an obligation of record entered into before a court or magistrate requiring the performance of an act such as appearance in court, usually under penalty of a money forfeiture. The archaic meaning of recognizance is token or pledge.