What is the difference between a cobb salad and a chef salad?

A chef salad and a Cobb salad both have lettuce, cheese, meats such as chicken and bacon, and hard-boiled eggs. ... The chef salad is typically considered a starter to the meal whereas, the Cobb salad is often considered to be the main dish.