How do you loosen up brown sugar?

A quick way to soften brown sugar is to put a moist paper towel in a plastic bag with the sugar and microwave it for 20 seconds. If you are leery about microwaving plastic, you could also put the sugar in a glass or ceramic bowl with a moist paper towel and cover it with a lid or plate.

---

Put the rock-hard sugar in a microwave-safe bowl, lay a moist paper towel on top, and microwave it for 20 seconds. If you find that the sugar still isn't soft after 20 seconds, feel free to give it another 20 seconds or so in the microwave, breaking up big pieces with a fork as you go.