What is the biggest house in the u. s.?

The Biltmore Estate isn't just the largest privately owned house in the United States — it blows the competition out of the water. Built in the style of a French chateaux between 1889 and 1985 for George Washington Vanderbilt II, the mansion boasts 35 bedrooms, 43 bathrooms and 65 fireplaces.