Why do they call it a tank top?

It is named after tank suits which were one piece bathing suits of the 1920s worn in tanks known as swimming pools.

---

They are called "tank tops" because they resemble the top part of the customary bathing suit worn by men in the 1920s. The suits were called "tanks" and were a one-piece suit resenbling the "singlet" wrestlers wear today.