What year did mcdonald's sell its first big mac?

in 1967 when Jim Delligatti, a franchisee from Pittsburgh, believed McDonald's should have a larger burger "geared towards adults." , he created a "double burger" he dubbed the Big Mac and debuted the sandwich in Uniontown, Pa. , thus McDonald's began selling the Big Mac Nation wide in 1968