Why is it called a trampoline?

Co-inventor of the trampoline George Nissen explained that the name came from the Spanish "trampolín", meaning a diving board. Nissen had heard the word on a tour in Mexico in the late 1930s and decided to use an anglicized form as the trademark for his apparatus.