When did alaska become a territory?

On October 18, 1867, the territory of Alaska was formally handed over to the U.S., after being purchased from Russia for 2 cents per acre! Many in Congress and elsewhere thought it was a waste of U.S. money. That sentiment changed greatly when gold was discovered in the Alaska Territory in 1898.