Is vanderbilt a military school?

Yes.Vanderbilt has been involved with ROTC since the program's inception in the National Defense Act of 1916, and continues to be so today.Kirkland, Vanderbilt's chief executive from 1893 to 1937, was a big proponent of bringing military training to campus as the First World War loomed closer.