What is a staff sergeant in the army?

A staff sergeant or E-6 is an enlisted non-commissioned officer who is just above a sergeant or E-5 and just below a sergeant first class or E-7. They take on leadership roles where they are usually in charge of larger groups of soldiers such as platoons or more property and equipment.