Why is coffee known as a cup of joe?

Some believe that the origin of “cup of joe" stems from a 1914 ban on alcohol on U.S. Navy ships imposed by the Secretary of the Navy Josephus “Joe" Daniels. After his order, the strongest drink a sailor could get on a ship was black coffee, which they then called "joe."