What is the difference between a lake and a sea?

Seas are generally smaller than oceans. A river is a large, flowing body of water that empties into a sea or an ocean. Streams, creeks, and brooks are smaller tributaries of a river. A lake is a large body of water that is surrounded on all sides by land.