What's the difference between a nurse and a doctor?

Doctors are formally trained in medicine, meaning the treatment of disease through medication, medical procedure and sometimes surgery. Nurse practitioners are formally trained in caring for the sick and have knowledge of how to diagnose, treat and manage many common ailments.