Why do you eat pork and sauerkraut on new year's?

Eating sauerkraut and pork on New Years is a German tradition which is also observed by the Pennsylvania Dutch. It was believed the eating of sauerkraut and pork would bring blessings and luck in the near year - as numerous as the strands of cabbage in the pot.