How many freddy krueger movies are there?

There are 9 movies with Freddy Krueger as a character. Those are Nightmare on Elm Street parts 1 to 6, Jason Goes to Hell, Freddy vs. Jason, and the remake of the first one. Another worth mentioning, is Wes Craven's New Nightmare.