Who is the bad guy in the smurfs?

Gargamel is a fictional character from The Smurfs. He is an evil wizard, the sworn enemy of the Smurfs, and the main antagonist in the show and comic books. His main goal in life is to destroy the Smurfs to turn them into gold.