What are eyelashes four?

Eyelashes keep dust and other small particles out of the eye and are sensitive to being touched, thus providing a warning that an object such as an insect is near the eye.

---

Eyelashes protect the eye from debris, dust and small particles and perform some of the same functions as whiskers do on a cat or a mouse in the sense that they are sensitive to being touched, thus providing a warning that an object (such as an insect) is near the eye (which then closes reflexively)