Why is it called allspice?

Despite its name, allspice isn't a universal blend of multiple spices. It is the dried unripe berry of the Pimenta dioica tree. It was the English who gave the spice its name in 1621 since they found the dried berry's flavor to be similar to a combination of cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg.