What is honky tonky?

A honky-tonk (also called honkatonk, honkey-tonk, or tonk) is both a bar that provides country music for the entertainment of its patrons and the style of music played in such establishments. ... This honky-tonk music was an important influence on the boogie-woogie piano style.