Did johnny cash ever spend time in prison?

Although Cash cultivated a romantic outlaw image, he never served a prison sentence. Despite landing in jail seven times for various misdemeanors, he stayed only one night on each occurrence.

---

Contrary to urban legend, Johnny Cash never spent any time in prison.