How do you eat a persimmon?

Usually they are too soft to slice and are best eaten cut in half simply scooping the flesh out with a spoon. In cooking the rich, sweet, spicy qualities of Hachiyas makes them ideal for use in jams or compotes. Otherwise you could try a persimmon smoothie