What is prime meat?

Prime is one of the 3 gradings given to meat for consumption by inspectors, choice and select are the other 2. Prime beef is produced from young, well-fed beef cattle. It has abundant marbling (the amount of fat interspersed with lean meat), and is generally sold in restaurants and hotels.